100 Happy Days: Day 30

by Laekin

July 17th: {A/N: I fell behind due to guests, homework, and travels. I’m almost caught up!}

20140717-195155-71515685.jpg 

20140717-195155-71515836.jpg

The thing I love about my best friends is that when I have a really, really shitty day and can’t think of anything happy, they make me happier. And they usually do it in weird ways. And sometimes I have to yell at them or tell them what I need because we’re all really different people with different needs and it feels weird, but then it all sorts itself out. Crystal and I typically have really weird conversations anyway. And Aaron and I typically have one sided conversations where I do all the talking until I proclaim that my throat hurts and he should do the talking for awhile. It’s pretty much the same in Facebook messaging, except Crystal rambles a lot more and Aaron says a lot less.

Crystal and I usually are always on the same page even when we’re tense. Except when we’re tense we need to stay away from each other. But we get along really well (scary well) and stuff, even though we argue (more like discuss in weird tones) a lot. So there isn’t much to tell her except sometimes to mention things I don’t like–like repeating myself. Aaron is a man of few words, unless you bring up dreams or shooting in raw. By few words, I mean almost every message I get is “Hmm.” or “I see.” So sometimes I have to poke and prod to get him to actually talk. And they’re both nerdy, geeky(in Crystal’s case not so much), and awkward. Which somehow makes us all really good friends. They’re literally the people I talk to, sometimes out of boredom, sometimes because I get annoyed that I’m quoting a movie I’m not obsessed with, but mostly because they’re kind of my best friends right now.

Even though their job isn’t to make me happy, they go to some pretty great lengths to make me happy. Like today. I couldn’t think of anything happy except the four hour nap I took to escape the world because it was that bad of a day. So then they try things that don’t work to bring my mood into a more pleasant one. But they try. And then really odd conversations and realizations happen when I’m talking to them. And it usually makes me happier. But I’m not kidding. I get all my epiphanies talking to them.

Anyway, Crystal has a lot of clothes. And all of her clothes make her look old. By old, I mean Crystal looks like she’s a 60-year-old woman with really great skin. Aaron has an old soul. He likes bluesy music type things and weird stuff like that. He also carries a cloth handkerchief (although I just think he believes a small thing of Kleenex is beneath him). So he’s pretty old too. But we’re all in the same age group. They just have old people personalities (some people call that maturity but I don’t think it’s really the same thing). And so we had this conversation which led to the epiphany that all of my closest friends are the equivalent of old people. And that either makes me an old person as well or the rebellious young adult they have to watch over. (I personally think it’s the latter–especially since I almost died from dehydration because I hate water and that’s only a slight exaggeration). Which of course is weird. But it’s an example of weird conversations and the usual weirdness I have with some of my closest friends.

Anyway, these two oldies are my happiness on days when I feel unhappy.

Laekin

P.S. Learn more about 100 Happy Days here.

P.P.S. Crystal’s blog is here but she’s not famous yet.

P.P.P.S. Aaron have you named your photography #AaronAmort yet? Because you need to.

P.P.P.P.S. There’s a bunch of weirdness in this post. But I like these people. And they don’t hear much. And when they do, I don’t explain it. So yeah. But it’s not like all mushy and gushy because ew gross. And I’m not a lesbian. I honestly think relationships are repulsive.

P.P.P.P.P.S. Crystal got complimented by a really old lady on her dress once. And apparently Aaron made a guy believe he was from the 1960s.

