We salute you, oh captain my captain and dear friend

by Laekin

o-captain

Gentlemen and Ladies, tonight we stand on our desks to salute one of the greatest actors in our lifetime. Robin Williams’ death came too soon. He is known for Good Will Hunting, Patch Adams, Hook, Dead Poet’s Society, Mrs. Doubtfire, Mork & Mindy, and many many many others.

One of my earliest experiences with Mr. Williams was when my mother made me watch Patch Adams with her when I was really young. I remember next to nothing about the movie. But I know that was my first experience with him. I met him once again when I fell in love with the movie Aladdin. He was sprinkled in every little portion of my childhood. I remember watching Jack on television one day–I remember crying during that movie. I remember watching Mrs. Doubtfire countless times with my mother or my grandmother, laughing with him. I remember being equally terrified and yet in awe of Jumanji. I remember watching August Rush and getting sick to my stomach because for once, Mr. Williams played an antagonist. When I was a teenager I decided that I could decide on what I believed and what I watched. So I watched Dead Poet’s Society after being told not to. And it instantly became my favorite movie. I wanted to be like Mr. Keating in every way shape or form. And if anyone besides Robin Williams had portrayed Mr. Keating, I can definitely say that I would not be the person I am today.

Robin Williams helped make me into the person I am today and I will never forget that. I will never forget him.

You’re only given a little spark of madness. You musn’t lose it. –Robin Williams

Rest in peace, my friend.

Laekin 

 

