Soup Lids Can Kill… Assholes Who Don’t Like You

by Laekin

I like to scoff in the face of people who say I’m lazy. Okay, that’s not true. But I like to think of myself scoffing in their faces. Some people deserve to be somewhat lazy. I mean–I can’t support myself with one job at minimum wage in this economy, how can I expect someone else to.

I work not one but two minimum wage jobs.

I work at least 55 hours a week.

I don’t have a day off.

I take care of my car.

I take care of three cats.

I have insomnia.

I haven’t had a free summer in over 3 years.

Instead of High School, I got my AAS from community college before I turned 18.

I got my BA in English 6 months before I turned 21.

I am currently studying for the GRE.

And I get yelled at a lot. For a lot of things I didn’t do. But I like/need my jobs.

I live alone in a two bedroom apartment that is $400 more than my last rent.

And I still find time to hang out with my friends. Or binge watch netflix.

So I’m sorry if I seem lazy or irritable to you. It might just be that I didn’t get any sleep between my shifts at the motel and my shifts at the restaurant. Or I might just be out of it and slicing my thumb open on a freaking soup lid. (Btw, it was the sole reason I left before the other person on my job.) Anyway, there is no reason for me to be taking shit and to be called lazy.

I work hard to be where I am in life.

eI work hard to be who I am in life.

And you don’t have to be my friend or my family if you don’t like me for me.

Laekin.

P.S. I actually did slice my thumb open on a soup lid. And for once I did go home before the other expo. I mean, I still did all of the work stocking and such. But I got to take the first break and leave before the other expo. Which has literally never happened once since I started expoing. So it was awesome. Plus now I know to stay away from soup lids before they kill someone. (And I really do love my job at the restaurant.)

